Important: Please read the Qt Code of Conduct - https://forum.qt.io/topic/113070/qt-code-of-conduct

Why does the slot emit it's connected signal ?

• *Hi !

I'm using QOpenGL to print a video on a texture for an QML HMI. I'm using a code that I don't understand and that does not work yet. And i'm completely new to OpenGL

So today's question is :
    Why would a slot emit the signal that calls this same slot ?

The signal I'm talking about, void newImageAvailable(); is emitted when a new image is ready to be printed. It's emitted periodically by a QThread. i got this. But the slot is only emitting the signal.
    here are the specific samples of code.

void ImageSourceShm::onNewImageAvailable(){
    		// Attention : peut-être exécuté dans le thread du monitor
    		Q_EMIT newImageAvailable();
    	}

i'm trying to understand how the code is supposed to print the image get in the shared memory on a texture...

• @Quentin91
    Are you 100% sure that the newImageAvailable signal is connected to onNewImageAvailable?

• Moderators

@quentin91 said in Why does the slot emit it's connected signal ?:

The signal I'm talking about, void newImageAvailable(); is emitted when a new image is ready to be printed. It's emitted periodically by a QThread.

Which class contains that signal?

here are the specific samples of code.

void ImageSourceShm::onNewImageAvailable(){
      	// Attention : peut-être exécuté dans le thread du monitor
      	Q_EMIT newImageAvailable();
      }

If that signal belongs to ImageSourceShm, then your program will enter an infinite recursion and crash when ImageSourceShm::newImageAvailable() is emitted.

• @fcarney

@Quentin91
    Are you 100% sure that the newImageAvailable signal is connected to onNewImageAvailable?

yes, i am

connect(m_pMonitorThread, SIGNAL(firstImageAvailable(int, int)), this, SLOT(onFirstImageAvailable(int, int)), Qt::DirectConnection);