Can't build after deleting the .pro.user file
kitfox last edited by
I'm trying to get a project ready for uploading to source control. As such, I want to avoid uploading files that are specific to my machine. I thought the .pro.user file would be one of these since it seems to be automatically generated and contains paths to my build directories that are local to my machine (actually, as far as I can tell, it looks like it contains the project settings). However, when I try to build after renaming it and restarting QtCreator, the build fails. I get different problems each time. Once it was unable to find the QDebug library, another time the build did seem to complete but then the debugger didn't start.
I still have a copy of the .pro.user file on my machine, and when I restore it I can build again - however, I would like other people to be able to download and build the source and they won't have access to this. How would I allow them to build?
How would I allow them to build?
.proand not the
.pro.useris correct. They have to configure the project's toolchain (kit, build dirs, etc.) when it's opened in creator, but that's pretty much it.